William Chevarie - 2019 Winning Essay

I want to help end our dependence on industrial animal agriculture by developing and democratizing cellular agriculture, or the multiplication of animal myoblastin in vitro. The aim is to obtain meat for human consumption, without animal suffering and with a drastic reduction in the equivalent environmental footprint.

After learning of its existence, I devoured all the literature I could find on the subject. I attended the first international conference on the subject in San Francisco. This experience allowed me to assess the current state of the environment and the likelihood of potential success of the technology. So I chose to lead my career plan with the intention of being a part of it.

Since there is no program of study in this area at Laval University or in Canada and the industry is still in its infancy, I have decided that I will do tailor-made training. I selected a list of courses from the other faculties of the university and convinced the departments to let me follow these without the necessary prerequisites.

The intermediate goal is to acquire the knowledge that allows me to transition from a bachelor's degree in food science to a master's degree in cellular and molecular biology and ultimately to find or create a doctoral project specifically in cellular agriculture. I aspire to work as a researcher and advance this cause until consumers have the option of meat produced more sustainably and without the ethical burden. I would also like to teach to pass on my knowledge to the next generation.

William Chevarie - Dissertation du lauréat, 2019

Je souhaite contribuer à mettre fin à notre dépendance à l’agriculture animale industrielle en développant et en démocratisant l’agriculture cellulaire, soit la multiplication de myoblaste animal in vitro. L’objectif est l’obtention de viande destinée à la consommation humaine, sans souffrance animale et avec une réduction drastique de l’empreinte environnementale équivalente.

Après avoir appris son existence, j’ai dévoré toute la littérature que je pouvais trouver sur le sujet. J’ai assisté à la première conférence internationale sur le sujet, à San Francisco. Cette expérience m’a permis d’évaluer l’état actuel du milieu et la probabilité de succès éventuel de la technologie. J’ai donc choisi de diriger mon plan de carrière avec l’intention d’en faire partie.

Puisque dans ce domaine, aucun programme d’enseignement n’existe à l’Université Laval ni au Canada et que l’industrie est encore au stade embryonnaire, j’ai décidé que je me ferai une formation sur mesure. J’ai sélectionné une liste de cours auprès des autres facultés de l’université et convaincu les départements respectifs de me laisser suivre ceux-ci sans les préalables requis.

Le but intermédiaire est d’acquérir les connaissances me permettant la transition d’un baccalauréat en sciences des aliments à une maitrise en biologie cellulaire et moléculaire et ultimement, trouver ou créer un projet de doctorat spécifiquement en agriculture cellulaire. J’aspire à travailler comme chercheur et faire avancer cette cause jusqu’à ce que les consommateurs aient l’option d’une viande produite de façon plus durable et sans le fardeau éthique. Je souhaiterais aussi enseigner pour transmettre mon savoir à la prochaine génération.