Vincent Chalifour - 2019 Winning Essay

When I was younger, I always had a passion for mathematics, but life made me enter the job market at an early age. For ten years, I worked at Hydro-Québec, notably as a trainer, but I didn't feel accomplished enough. In 2008, I decided to go back to school in order to become a professor-researcher in mathematics. This professional reorientation will allow me to realize myself through my mathematical curiosity and to pass on this passion that is mine to my own students.

My plan of attack began with an intensive mathematical revision every morning before work. I then completed a bachelor's degree in mathematics (4.1/4.3), supplemented by an internship at the Quebec Electrical Research Institute. I am currently completing a master's degree in applied mathematics and computer science in surface theory at the University of Quebec in Trois-Rivières (4.3/4.3). In September 2019, I will begin my doctoral studies at the University of Montreal. My research project will find applications, in particular, in quantum mechanics. I have received eleven awards over the course of my academic career, including the Quebec Research Fund - Nature and Technology Fellowship.

I wrote a peer-reviewed scientific paper (2nd author) and made a scientific paper at an international conference in Italy in 2018. I am currently finishing the writing of a second article, of which I am the first author. I am also a member of the Graduate Program’s Committee of the Department of Mathematics. I'm getting closer and closer to my professional goal.

Vincent Chalifour - Dissertation du lauréat, 2019

Plus jeune, j’ai toujours eu une passion pour les mathématiques, mais la vie a fait en sorte que j’entre très tôt sur le marché du travail. Pendant dix ans, j’ai travaillé chez Hydro-Québec, notamment comme formateur, mais je ne me sentais pas suffisamment accompli. En 2008, j’ai décidé de faire un retour aux études afin de devenir professeur-chercheur en mathématiques. Cette réorientation professionnelle me permettra de me réaliser à travers ma curiosité mathématique et de transmettre cette passion qui est la mienne à mes propres étudiants.

Mon plan d’attaque débuta par une révision mathématique intensive chaque matin avant le travail. J’ai ensuite effectué un baccalauréat en mathématiques (4,1/4,3), complété par un stage à l’Institut de recherche en électricité du Québec. Je termine actuellement une maîtrise en mathématiques et informatique appliquées portant sur la théorie des surfaces à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (4,3/4,3). En septembre 2019, j’entreprendrai mes études doctorales à l’Université de Montréal. Mon projet de recherche trouvera des applications, notamment, en mécanique quantique. J’ai reçu onze distinctions au fil de mon parcours académique, dont la bourse Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies.

J’ai rédigé un article scientifique évalué par les pairs (2e auteur) et fait une communication scientifique dans une conférence internationale en Italie en 2018. Je termine actuellement la rédaction d’un second article, dont je suis le 1er auteur. Je suis également membre du Comité de programmes de cycles supérieurs du département de mathématiques. J’approche de plus en plus de mon objectif professionnel.